Posted in Daily Post

Daily Post: Mouths Wide Shut


Are you a picky eater? Share some of your favorite food quirks with us (the more exotic, the better!). Omnivores: what’s the one thing you won’t eat? —http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/mouths-wide-shut/

I will try almost anything once. If it involves a bug, you can keep it to yourself. I refuse. Absolutely not. I have a grasshopper phobia, and it doesn’t matter what the fuck you cover that shit in, I’m not eating it. Straight up, just no. No way in hell. Not happening. Cough I won’t eat anything that features onion or garlic as a main ingredient either, but that’s because my mom is allergic to both of them and so I’ve got a pretty significant sensitivity to them. They make my tummy hurt. And that, in turn, causes other problems. ‘Nuff said.

I’m a stickler about quality, though. I’ll still eat it, usually, but I’ll definitely be honest that it isn’t made well, seasoned well, whatever. Pre-packaged ramen? Gross and totally bad for me. But do I eat it? You know I do. I’m broke. $0.22 meals make my whole day. (The resulting stomach ache kind of dampens that, but never mind.)

One of my favorite things is to explore new culinary experiences, and it breaks my heart that my boyfriend doesn’t like to try new, unfamiliar things. (It’s probably my biggest issue with the man, and that should really say something about us, haha.) I have all of these recipes that I want to try, but I don’t want to make it and be the only one to experience it because he doesn’t like something that’s in it or is freaked out by a texture. It’s the most disheartening experience ever to make something and then have your significant other tell you that it’s gross. Sigh.

So. Picky? Yes and no.

Author:

I am a Writing and Publishing graduate student at Emerson College. I studied English and Linguistics in my undergraduate career, as well as a little bit of philosophy and four other languages (somewhat superficially). I am interested in language and how we use it culturally, as well as a vast collection of current sociopolitical issues, including race, sex, and gender, and the ways that those issues intersect each other.

One thought on “Daily Post: Mouths Wide Shut

Add to the discussion!

