Posted in Daily Post

Daily Post: Handle with Care


How are you at receiving criticism? Do you prefer that others treat you with kid gloves, or go for brutal honesty? — http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/handle-with-care/

Although I insist that I only want honesty, I have to admit that I dislike brutal honesty in terms of critiquing my writing. My confidence is a delicate veil over my bottomless pit of uncertainty, and when it comes to critiquing my writing I am unnaturally sensitive. Annoying, and even I know it. But there it is.

I do not, however, usually advocate for people to lie to me about it. If one doesn’t like it, I’d prefer one just said so and was nice about it. I don’t mind; I’ll be the first to say that my writing isn’t exactly universally appealing. But I don’t want to hear rudeness about it.

Author:

I am a Writing and Publishing graduate student at Emerson College. I studied English and Linguistics in my undergraduate career, as well as a little bit of philosophy and four other languages (somewhat superficially). I am interested in language and how we use it culturally, as well as a vast collection of current sociopolitical issues, including race, sex, and gender, and the ways that those issues intersect each other.

Add to the discussion!

