Posted in Daily Post

Daily Post: Off the Shelf


Take a look at your bookcase. If you had enough free time, which book would be the first one you’d like to reread? Why? —http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/off-the-shelf/

You know, I have so many books that I’ve purchased over the past several years of school/college and have never managed to get around to reading that I have a hard time with the idea of rereading anything. I’ve got stand-alones and sequels and the remaining book(s) in series that I started ages ago and even a few full series. Like. I bought a whole series of books and haven’t gotten around to starting it yet. And there are a few of those. Oops?

However, I have a book that I read as a young kid by the name of Time Stops for No Mouse by Michael Hoeye that has stuck with me throughout the years like nobody’s business. It was about a watchmaker mouse by the name of Hermux Tantamoq who turned into a detective when a pretty lady mouse named Linka Perflinger came in and needed her watch fixed and set perfectly to the exact second because it was life or death. I think she was a pilot, too, but it’s been so long I could be mistaken. Anyway, Hermux turns into a detective because she doesn’t come back for her watch and then goes on this wild adventure to try to save her.

I have just discovered that there are, in fact, FOUR books of Hermux’s adventures, and I’m telling you right now that I am appallingly inclined to go find and purchase the next three just to read them all. Even though I’m almost 22, soon-to-be engaged and graduating college, and even though I normally read mature novels. Kids books are fun sometimes! They are!

Update: I have just ordered the other 3 books in the series from Amazon, since I got a $5 gift card for doing a survey. So for $10? Yeah, I’ll spring.for that. =)

So there you go. That’s the book I’d reread. And follow up with the remaining adventures. I will probably force them on my boyfriend as well. Even though he’ll grump. He’ll get over it. 😉

Author:

I am a Writing and Publishing graduate student at Emerson College. I studied English and Linguistics in my undergraduate career, as well as a little bit of philosophy and four other languages (somewhat superficially). I am interested in language and how we use it culturally, as well as a vast collection of current sociopolitical issues, including race, sex, and gender, and the ways that those issues intersect each other.

One thought on “Daily Post: Off the Shelf

  1. Yes, kids books are fun most of the time- I read my seven year old’s regularly. Recently, I discovered Clifford the dog. I am trying to get hold of all the books in the series.

    Like

Add to the discussion!

