Posted in Daily Post

Daily Prompt: Nosey Delights


From the yeasty warmth of freshly baked bread to the clean, summery haze of lavender flowers, we all have favorite smells we find particularly comforting. What’s yours? –http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/nosey-delights/

I grew up in farm country, so the smells that immediately comfort me are a little off the beaten path. Freshly cut alfalfa just about tops the list, to be honest. The smell of dirt after the rain–and I do realize that wet dirt is, in fact, mud.

Also, while I certainly won’t say that I enjoy the smell of sweat/BO, I will admit that I don’t find it as offensive as many other people do. The reason for this is that my dad raised cattle for many years, and particularly during calving, they don’t like the smell of not-natural human–i.e. cologne or deodorant. So my dad just never wore it. While a lot of people think that’s gross, it really never was. He’d go out and work all day, sweat plenty, whatever, and then at the end of the day he’d shower and wash it all off. Sure, he got a bit fragrant sometimes, but it was just the nature of his job. You spend 14 hours in the sun in a tractor driving in circles without air conditioning and tell me just how pretty you smell. So even though BO may not necessarily be “comforting” it’s not offensive. I mean… it’s almost comforting. It just reminds me of my dad. And that’s not nearly as disgusting as you may think it sounds.

I’m also particularly fond of the smell of freshly cut grass–even though it sends my hayfever into a frenzy. Freshly baked bread is right up there with comforting smells, too. And–here’s my fat kid admission–there is literally nothing that smells better than browning butter. My God, that smell -could drag me downstairs from my bedroom as a teen just to see what was on the stove. “Just butter,” Mom said. I learned to stop protesting.

Author:

I am a Writing and Publishing graduate student at Emerson College. I studied English and Linguistics in my undergraduate career, as well as a little bit of philosophy and four other languages (somewhat superficially). I am interested in language and how we use it culturally, as well as a vast collection of current sociopolitical issues, including race, sex, and gender, and the ways that those issues intersect each other.

Add to the discussion!

