Posted in Daily Post

Daily Prompt: Frame of Mind


If you could paint your current mood onto a canvas, what would that painting look like? What would it depict? —http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/frame-of-mind/

As my mood is currently not the greatest, I imagine that the canvas would be a lot of dark colors with virulent, chaotic splash patterns across it in colors which do not work well together. Yet through it all, I think that there would need to be this undertone of acceptance, perhaps a dusting of a shimmer powders in amorphous cloud shapes which would represent the ease of my romantic relationship and understanding of my self.

But conveyed would be a sense of uncertainty, of anxiety, of depression and longing, frustration and helplessness. And yet somehow, I feel like there would be some level of control to the chaos, because even though all of these things are transpiring in a perpetual background, they only occasionally visit the foreground of my life and what I maintain on a normal basis is a logical progression of reason.

Author:

I am a Writing and Publishing graduate student at Emerson College. I studied English and Linguistics in my undergraduate career, as well as a little bit of philosophy and four other languages (somewhat superficially). I am interested in language and how we use it culturally, as well as a vast collection of current sociopolitical issues, including race, sex, and gender, and the ways that those issues intersect each other.

Add to the discussion!

