Posted in Daily Post

Daily Prompt: Verbal Ticks


Is there a word or a phrase you use (or overuse) all the time, and are seemingly unable to get rid of? If not, what’s the one that drives you crazy when others use it? —http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/verbal-ticks/

Oh dear.

I say “totes” and “def” in place of “totally” and “definitely”. I’ve also taken to saying “dibs” in place of “cool” thanks to a girl I worked with over the summer. But I guess that’s not that big of a deal.

Things that drive me crazy:

“Oh-em-geee!”

>Gag me.

“I literally can’t even.”

>I beg your pardon?

“Grammar nazi.”

>Excuse me. I am not a Nazi, I am merely an enthusiast who takes things very seriously. I am not a Nazi.

I’m sure that there are more, but I mostly try not to think about it because I dislike being irritated.

Author:

I am a Writing and Publishing graduate student at Emerson College. I studied English and Linguistics in my undergraduate career, as well as a little bit of philosophy and four other languages (somewhat superficially). I am interested in language and how we use it culturally, as well as a vast collection of current sociopolitical issues, including race, sex, and gender, and the ways that those issues intersect each other.

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Verbal Ticks

  1. People need to learn the definitions of literally and nazi. There’s nothing wrong with being enthusiastic about language. And I can even say there is literally nothing wrong with being enthusiastic about language because I know what literally means!

    Liked by 1 person

Add to the discussion!

