Posted in Daily Post

Daily Prompt: Pick Your Gadget


Your local electronics store has just started selling time machines, anywhere doors, and invisibility helmets. You can only afford one. Which of these do you buy, and why?  —http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/pick-your-gadget/

While my heart cries out for me to buy the time machine to go back in time to revisit my late brother, I know that to do so would be detrimental to my mental and emotional health, as well as the rest of my life. The fact of the matter is that my brother is gone, and I cannot change that, regardless of how badly I really, desperately want to. The time machine is impossibly tempting, for more reasons than this, but I know better. I couldn’t do that to myself, despite the impossible temptation.

Able to afford only one, I would grab an Anywhere Door, and I would use the hell out of it. I would go everywhere I’ve dreamed of going. It would have a frequent opening in London, but it would certainly show me the world. Unable to escape the truth of my present, there is nothing I’d like more than to explore the world around me, especially those parts I haven’t seen. I would visit my friends in faraway places, go to concerts and plays/musicals in locations too far to traverse for the occasion–like the production of Hamlet in which Benedict Cumberbatch will be playing Hamlet himself this fall, for a prime example. I would visit my brother, his wife and their new baby far more often than they’d like me to. I would take my boyfriend to visit his niece. We would go everywhere, and nothing would stop us. It would be amazing.

Damnit, guys, now I want an Anywhere Door. This so isn’t fair.

Author:

I am a Writing and Publishing graduate student at Emerson College. I studied English and Linguistics in my undergraduate career, as well as a little bit of philosophy and four other languages (somewhat superficially). I am interested in language and how we use it culturally, as well as a vast collection of current sociopolitical issues, including race, sex, and gender, and the ways that those issues intersect each other.

Add to the discussion!

