Posted in Daily Post

Daily Prompt: Ring of Fire


Do you love hot and spicy foods or do you avoid them for fear of what tomorrow might bring? —http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/ring-of-fire/

First thing: I like to eat. If you know me, you’ve seen the evidence thereof. Okay, okay, I’m not fat, but I certainly have some extra pudge hanging around. It’s because I like food. I like food way too much to stop eating, so no one ever has to worry about an eating disorder with this girl.

That said, I do not think that food should hurt. And when people make things ridiculously spicy, I don’t like it. I don’t get the point of spicy food, I guess. I mean, don’t get me wrong: I like some food with some spice, so long as the heat adds to the flavor. Hot for the sake of hot just bugs the hell out of me. No thanks, friends. I’ll stick with my non-spicy deliciousness.

Second thing: I unfortunately have an appallingly delicate tummy. Even bland food can sometimes set it off. Spiciness… can be bad. Really, really bad, as a matter of fact. I’ve been known to curl into the fetal position and whimper from hurting too badly to move. It’s miserable.

Suffice it to say, I tend to avoid spicy food. Not just because I dread what it does to my guts, but also because I’m just not that big of a fan. I like some, here and there, but not a lot. I’m certainly not going to go after that BWW wing challenge. In two words, I can sum up my feelings about the entire endeavor:

Fuck. That.

Author:

I am a Writing and Publishing graduate student at Emerson College. I studied English and Linguistics in my undergraduate career, as well as a little bit of philosophy and four other languages (somewhat superficially). I am interested in language and how we use it culturally, as well as a vast collection of current sociopolitical issues, including race, sex, and gender, and the ways that those issues intersect each other.

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Ring of Fire

Add to the discussion!

