Posted in Daily Post

Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion


Which subject in school did you find impossible to master? Did math give you hives? Did English make you scream? Do tell! —http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/04/02/prompt-land-of-confusion/

So in high school, I rarely had a problem with anything. In high school, academics came pretty dang easy. Breezed through math, practically snored through English–seriously didn’t hand in a single paper in 4 years that I didn’t BS from start to finish (and never got less than an A)–and science classes were easy enough.

Until I got to Physics.

Physics was a disaster. In my defense, we had a teacher who hadn’t taught in over a decade and then a student teacher who couldn’t teach his way out of a paper bag. But that was when science and I had a disagreement. It said its spiel and I said “Um… what?” Seriously, there were a couple of points where I was crying from frustration in attempt to do my bloody homework.

Not okay.

And then I graduated high school and got to college. And most of college hasn’t been dreadfully hard, although there’ve been a few bad grades.

Micro Econ was a shit show. Again, in my defense, the prof was from some country in Africa and his accent was so bad it took all of my focus to interpret his speech to hear what he was saying and then I didn’t learn anything. So I tried not going to class, and that also failed miserably. My bad.

Intro to Logic just made my brain hurt. Seriously. I tried so hard in that class, too. The prof was really good. He was, honestly. I just couldn’t wrap my brain around a fair amount of it. I went into the final for that class knowing exactly how many points I needed to get in order to pass that class with a C–and I was 1 short. ONE POINT SHORT. But the prof gave me a C in the class anyway, for which I’m eternally grateful. I seriously don’t think he understands just how grateful I am for that C. hahaha.

Author:

I am a Writing and Publishing graduate student at Emerson College. I studied English and Linguistics in my undergraduate career, as well as a little bit of philosophy and four other languages (somewhat superficially). I am interested in language and how we use it culturally, as well as a vast collection of current sociopolitical issues, including race, sex, and gender, and the ways that those issues intersect each other.

Add to the discussion!

