Posted in Daily Post

Daily Prompt: Moments to Remember


It makes me crazy when people wear their shoes in my house. What habit/act drives you crazy? How do you prevent it from happening? —http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/31/prompt-drives-me-crazy/

Bad grammar drives me up a friggin wall. People who say things like “I seen” or “Your welcome” grate on my nerves more than anything else. I also really detest the use of “u”, “r”, and “y” in place of real words. “Hbu”, “asl”, “omw”–none of these are acceptable. I realize that some people can’t spell, and although misspellings bother me a little, they are much less annoying than unnecessary abbreviations and blatant errors. Apostrophes do not belong in plural words. “Welcome”s are not possessions. The list goes on.

I realize that typos happen. I’m certainly not free from the periodic typo. We are human; we err. So it goes. But for the love of all that’s holy, can we please learn how to string together a proper sentence–or at least hire an editor who does?

Unfortunately, the only thing I can do to prevent getting irritated by horrid grammar is to not talk to people who can’t hold a conversation at the level that I demand. I’ve been known to neglect to message people back simply for being incapable of sending me a decent message. Does that make me a snob? Yeah, probably. But if you can’t take the time to actually talk to me, then I guess I don’t really figure I should be required to take the time to talk to you. It’s pretty simple, really.

I like to think that demanding more from people would inspire them to be more on a regular basis, that offering the correct grammatical structure (or spelling, in some cases) might actually help a person get it right the next time. I’m not trying to point out your errors so much as I’m trying to save you from making the error again. It rarely works, for the record, and consequently I’m frequently disliked because of it. (The friends I do have are intelligent, though, so at least it works as a filtering process.)

This all makes me sound like a really terrible person, doesn’t it? In my defense, I do have friends I’ve decided are lost causes, and I do still talk to them. I just sit and stew in my irritation in silence because it doesn’t do any good to say anything. Personally, though, I think that if you’re in college, you should at least be able to string together a grammatical sentence. Clearly you’re smart enough to get here; you’d probably better speak like it.

Author:

I am a Writing and Publishing graduate student at Emerson College. I studied English and Linguistics in my undergraduate career, as well as a little bit of philosophy and four other languages (somewhat superficially). I am interested in language and how we use it culturally, as well as a vast collection of current sociopolitical issues, including race, sex, and gender, and the ways that those issues intersect each other.

Add to the discussion!

