Posted in Daily Post

Daily Prompt: Mr. Sandman


What kind of sleeper are you? Do you drop off like a stone and awaken refreshed, or do you need pitch black and silence to drift off to dream? — http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/23/daily-prompt-mr-sandman/

For me, sleep is often an elusive thing–hard to catch and hard to keep. I often wake up at least once or twice throughout the night–sometimes every hour and a half all night long, which is obnoxious–but sometimes I actually manage to fall asleep when I lie down and stay asleep until morning. Or. You know. Afternoon.

I regularly go through bouts of insomnia, which is relatively unfortunate. I regularly pull all-nighters because of procrastination of schoolwork. Oops. But I like naps. I like naps a lot. Even for a nap though, I have to allot myself extra time because it usually takes me forever and a half just to fall asleep. I dislike it. But there it is.

This morning, I woke up at 7:30 a.m. and haven’t been able to sleep since. Which means I’ve been up almost 5 hours. That’s a long time to be awake on a Sunday. Especially because my crabby pants boyfriend refuses to get up. Stupidhead didn’t come back down to bed until 6 this morning. I do, however, at least get to blame jet lag for this. I spent a week in London, which is 5 hours ahead of my normal time zone, and I got used to it much faster than I’m getting used to this. Apparently it’s easier to go forward than it is to go back. Who knew.

Author:

I am a Writing and Publishing graduate student at Emerson College. I studied English and Linguistics in my undergraduate career, as well as a little bit of philosophy and four other languages (somewhat superficially). I am interested in language and how we use it culturally, as well as a vast collection of current sociopolitical issues, including race, sex, and gender, and the ways that those issues intersect each other.

Add to the discussion!

