Posted in Daily Post

Daily Prompt: Three Coins in a Fountain


Have you ever tossed a coin or two into a fountain and made a wish? Did it come true? —http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/21/daily-prompt-coins/

I quit throwing coins into fountains, paying attention to 11:11’s on the clock, and wishing on stars about 3 1/2 years ago when my younger brother died. Because the only thing that I could ever truly wish for is to have my brother back, and that’s something that can never be made real for me.

Wishing became pointless, so I save my change, and my time. It just isn’t worth it anymore.

Author:

I am a Writing and Publishing graduate student at Emerson College. I studied English and Linguistics in my undergraduate career, as well as a little bit of philosophy and four other languages (somewhat superficially). I am interested in language and how we use it culturally, as well as a vast collection of current sociopolitical issues, including race, sex, and gender, and the ways that those issues intersect each other.

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Three Coins in a Fountain

Add to the discussion!

