Posted in Daily Post

Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise


Tell us about a time when someone had you completely fooled, where the wool was pulled right over your eyes and you got hoodwinked, but good. Was it a humorous experience or one you’d rather forget? What was the outcome? — http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/14/daily-prompt-brilliant-disguise/

I hate to admit that I’ve been fooled repeatedly over the course of my life. I guess it’s my own fault for wanting to believe that people are just inherently honest.

My freshman year of college, I started talking to his kid in my sociology class and we got to be fairly decent friends, I suppose. He told me he was also a freshman, living at home, only taking a few credits while he was working and such. It seemed feasible, so I went with it. I liked him; I won’t pretend otherwise. I’d have certainly gone out with him if he’d have ever really asked. I mean, I guess we did go out once? Whatever.

So I find out after a few months that he’s totally still in high school and has been lying to me for months. Honestly, I had kind of suspected for awhile that something was up because there were a lot of things that just never added up to 100%, but, like I said, I wanted to believe that he was honest and whatever. I guess I hate to think that someone is lying to me.

Apparently he wanted me to like him and was afraid that I wouldn’t if I knew he was still in high school. I guess I’m that intimidating and come off as that big of a jerk, guys, that he felt he had to lie to me for 4 months just to be my friend. I still can’t decide if it was vaguely flattering or insulting or both or somewhere between. I don’t really think about it a whole lot anymore; there’s really no point, because we quit talking and I guess I don’t especially care, either. I’ve got bigger things to think about than a kid who pretended to be in college for a semester, frankly. So it’s not that it was a necessarily “humorous” experience, although it’s not like I try not to think about it either. I just don’t. At all… like ever… I mean, with the exception of right now, I suppose.

Author:

I am a Writing and Publishing graduate student at Emerson College. I studied English and Linguistics in my undergraduate career, as well as a little bit of philosophy and four other languages (somewhat superficially). I am interested in language and how we use it culturally, as well as a vast collection of current sociopolitical issues, including race, sex, and gender, and the ways that those issues intersect each other.

Add to the discussion!

